Flash Report: ACORN Director, Public Employees Lobbyist, & JPA Director Appointed to CHSWC

By: Bess Shapiro

Christine BoumaGovernor Jerry Brown has appointed Doug Bloch, a former ACORN director, as a labor representative to the Commission on Health and Safety and Workers’ Compensation.  Bloch replaces the well respected Darrel “Shorty” Thacker. According to the governor’s office, Bloch served as the state-wide political director for the California branch of the Association of Community Organization for Reform Now (ACORN) from 2003 to 2004. He also ran several ACORN regional offices, including Seattle and Oakland, from 1999 to 2003. In addition to his work with ACORN, he was also the political director at Teamsters Joint Council 7 since 2010, and a senior research analyst at Service Employees International Union Local 1877 from 2004 to 2006.

The governor also appointed Christine Bouma, president of Capitol Connection since 2000, a lobbying firm that represents the California Professional Firefighters. She was a mathematics and computer science teacher at the Hesperia Unified School District from 1989 to 1999 and an instructor at Victor Valley Community College from 1991 to 1998. She is a member of the Institute of Governmental Advocates.

Martin BradyMartin Brady, the executive director at Schools Insurance Authority, has been appointed to the employer seat on CHSWC. Brady is also a member of the California Joint Powers Authority, California Coalition on Workers Compensation, Public Agency Risk Managers Association, Public School Risk Institute, Association of Governmental Risk Pools and the Public Risk Management Association. Brady has been testified frequently on workers’ comp issues, especially liens.

In addition to Thacker, the appointments replace employer representative Catherine Aguilar and fill one vacancy. The positions do not require senate confirmation. With today’s appointments, CHSWC has all eight members. Four are appointed by the governor, two are appointed by Senate Rules and two are appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly.